Rock n’ roll: the classics inducted in the Hall of Fame

Andrew Reese and Nick Stenger

The Red Hot Chili Peppers (left to right), bassist Flea and drummer Chad Smith, perform at the Amway Center in Orlando, Florida, March 31. The band was honored April 5 by being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Used with permission/Stephen M. Dowell/Orlando Sentinel/MCT

Cleveland, Ohio is home to the extravagant Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and its notorious induction concert and ceremony. This year’s ceremony began with  events beginning April 5 and concluded with the induction ceremony April 14.  Throughout the years, legendary bands and celebrities have attended and performed.  Only this year, a celebrity of great importance decided not to show. 

Axl Rose, lead singer of the legendary rock and roll band, Guns n’ Roses proclaimed he wouldn’t be attending the induction ceremony on April 5, and declined his induction as a member of the band.

 Rose said in an interview with the L.A. Times, “No offense meant to anyone, but the Hall of Fame induction ceremony doesn’t appear to be somewhere I’m actually wanted or respected.” 

The Red Hot Chili Peppers, the last band to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on April 14, threw an astonishing performance according to many attendants.  Due to Rose’s behavior, many rock fans already split, leaving the band with far less than the rock group deserved. Despite the tragedy, bass player Chili Pepper “Flea” still thanked GNR for their performance and reminisced about their time together and friendly past.  

While one celebrity did not attend the event for peculiar reasons, another happened to skip for a legitimate reason.  

Of The hip-hop trio, The Beastie Boys, consisted of  Adam “MCA” Yauch, Mike “D” Diamond and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz. Yaunch was not able to make it to the induction ceremony as a result of the salivary gland cancer he was diagnosed with three years ago. He passed away at age 47  on May 4.  

The Beastie Boys said they regreted to inform the L.A. Times, “Mike [Diamond], Adam [Horovitz] and Adam [Yaunch] are truly grateful for the honor but with only two of the three Beastie Boys attending, they will unfortunately not be able to perform at the ceremony.” 

The annual ceremony presents rock history to anyone  visiting Cleveland. The induction has been held since 1986, and will continue for years to come, inducting rock legends into the hall.  


2012-05-17 10:12:25